MFP: Proposal v1,2+3

DRAFT #3

If my life was a film, I would constantly have perfect hair and make-up. If my life was a film, exciting characters and thrilling plot lines would always surround me. If my life was a film, I would emerge victorious and heroic when facing dramatic turning points in life. The film industry creates an alternate World to the one we live in, bringing intriguing stories to life and discarding the unsavory elements of the day-to-day with exciting plots and beautiful characters.  Something aspired to yet unreachable, due to the contradictory realistic nature however unrealistic presentation of true life.

Through analyzing the work of many commercial photographers such as Michael Muller and Alex Prager, it is clear that there is a strong cinematic element to their work, particularly when photographing film stars in keeping with their recognizable roles. For example, Michael Muller’s photograph of Robert Downing Junior taken between Iron Man films depicts a slightly manic Downing smoking and wielding a machine gun; similar to his role in Iron Man where he plays a destructive character in command of heavy artillery. <quote from Spencer >  The construction of the familiar aspects of the characters identity being transformed slightly into a portrait of the actor allows the audience to relate closely to the image, as the traits of the character is easily related to the actor themselves through recognition.

2 Apply critical analysis when communicating themes and ideas about professional photography clearly and comprehensively in visual, and written forms;

When in conversation with David Campbell it was made apparent that ‘narrative offers a sense of coherence/purpose, whereas real-life events don’t. We desire story structure, even if we know it’s false.’ Visual aids to communication are a vital element to demonstrating a narrative, ‘a combination of methods [are used] to transmit those constructions to others.’  

3 Develop their professional independence by defining their own position clearly, with respect to existing bodies of knowledge and practice;

There is a range of accepted aesthetic principles applied to cinematic works and an encoded semiotic language to film that has been harnessed by photographers previously. Cindy Sherman’s Untitled Film Stills attempt the incorporation of such rules in the creation of imitations of stereotypical film scenes. Though my work also will employ these principles, I will be applying them to a less banal concept of cinematic works. By setting out to create a series of film stills, I understand that in order to subvert this language I first need to speak the ‘language’ of Michael Muller et al.

My strong photographic ability to create relatable narrative and character through a single image will grow through this work. The World created by the film industry is one with perfect lighting and intriguing life-stories, whilst providing a solid understanding of the atmosphere and story line <picture examples>. Evoking strong emotional ties to a subject through the construction of an image is a critical element in the success and attachment to characters in film. Producing work of this standard personally will incorporate cinematic principles into elements of my own life and of those around me in order to evoke emotion and narrative of subject through photography.

4 Evidence a continued professional commitment to the evolution of their practice

The personal challenges set through picbod brought me to a higher understanding of the language of photography. By challenging myself further through this work, I will master and enhance previous perceptions to take me on to a more professional ability and understanding of cinematic photography. Ultimately it will further my development into a career in photography directive. 

I intend to create works in which I demonstrate a strong narrative of subject through a single image, ultimately summarizing a story. The ability to create a narrative and intrigue through a single image is one that will be ultimately priceless to me once mastered. The development of my own personal practice through the progression of a project leaning strongly towards the commercial aspects of photography will provide a wider understanding of the practice  one which will ultimately enhance and further the understanding of narrative learnt through PHONAR.

DRAFT #2

If my life was a film, I would constantly have perfect hair and make-up. If my life was a film, I would always be surrounded by exciting characters and thrilling plot-lines. If my life was a film, I would emerge victorious and heroic when facing dramatic turning points in life. The film industry creates an alternate World to the one we live in, brining intriguing stories to life and discarding the unsavoury elements of the day-to-day with exciting plots and beautiful characters, something aspired to yet unreachable, due to the contradictory realistic nature however unrealistic presentation of true life. 

Through analysing the work of many commercial photographers such as Michael Muller and Alex Prager, it is clear that there is a strong cinematic element to their work, particularly when photographing film stars in keeping with their recognizable roles. For example, Michael Muller’s photograph of Robert Downing Junior taken between Iron Man films depicts a slightly manic Downing smoking and wielding a machine gun; similar to his role in Iron Man where he plays a destructive character in command of heavy artillery. The construction of the familiar aspects of the characters identity being transformed slightly into a portrait of the actor allows the audience to relate closely to the image, as the traits of the character is easily related to the actor themselves through recognition. 

Narrative is a critical component in cinematic photography. A portrait taken of a character in a film, or alternatively the actor in question for advertising purposes will ultimately intend to emphasize the films narrative through a single image. EXAMPLES

Through this project I intend to greatly improve my own photographic ability to create relatable narrative and character through a single image. The World created by the film industry is one with perfect lighting and intriguing life-stories, whilst providing a solid understanding of the atmosphere and story line. Evoking strong emotional ties to a subject through the construction of an image is a critical element in the success and attachment to characters in film. Producing work of this standard personally will incorporate cinematic principles into elements of my own life and of those around me in order to evoke emotion and narrative of subject through photography.

I intend to create works in which I demonstrate a strong narrative of subject through a single image, ultimately summarizing a story. The ability to create a narrative and intrigue through a single image is one that will be ultimately priceless to me once mastered. The development of my own personal practise through the progression of a project leaning strongly towards the commercial aspects of photography will provide a wider understanding of the practise, one which will ultimately enhance and further the understanding of narrative learnt through PHONAR.

DRAFT #1

TITLE Self-defined proposal with supporting research & development work

If my life was a film, I would constantly have perfect hair and make-up. If my life was a film, I would always be surrounded by exciting characters and story-lines  If my life was a film, I would emerge victorious and heroic when facing dramatic turning points in life. The film industry creates an alternate World to the one we live in, bringing intriguing stories to life and discarding the unsavory elements of the day to day with exciting plots and beautiful characters, something aspired to yet unreachable due to the contradictory realistic nature yet unrealistic presentation of real life.

Through analyzing the work of many commercial photographers, it is clear that there is a strong cinematic element to the composition and structure of their work, particularly when photographing film stars in keeping with their recognizable roles. This concept has grown from my strong interest and love of the cinema, with the dramatic overturning of simple subjects becoming fascinating to me. To create my life as a movie, there would be slight humor in the portrayal of everyday events in a dramatic conceptualization  as I intend to tell a dramatized story through the dynamic visuality of the cinema.

Narrative is a critical component in photography as learnt through phonar, one which is massively evident through cinematic photography. A portrait taken of a character in a film, or alternatively the actor in question for advertising purposes will ultimately intend to emphasize the films narrative through a single image. This is also true through working with film-stills, which will encompass a films atmosphere and story through a single frame.

Through this project I intend to greatly improve my own photographic ability to create narrative and character through a single image. The World created by the film industry is one with perfect lighting and intriguing life-stories, whilst providing a solid understanding of the atmosphere and story line  Evoking strong emotional ties to a subject through the construction of an image is a critical element in the success and attachment to characters in films. Producing work of this standard personally will incorporate cinematic principles into elements of my own life and of those around me in order to evoke emotion and narrative of subject through photography.

I intend to create works in which I demonstrate a strong narrative of a subject through a single image, ultimately summarizing a story. The ability to create narrative and intrigue through a single image is one that will be ultimately priceless to me once mastered. The development of my own personal practice through the progression of a project leaning strongly towards the commercial side of photography will provide a wider understanding of the practice  one which will ultimately enhance and further the understanding of narrative learnt through PHONAR. 

Leave a Reply

