PHONAR: Adopt a Memory

Chatting through the ideas today, Sean Carroll has had some great ones for a collaboration.

As I want to try and stick to the Lost and Found, and try and get people more involved with the photograph aside from the children, a way to do this is to create a kind of, photography adoption agency. Let people foster the photograph for a week or a month or a year, let them give the story a second life as they explain it away as a distant relative to guests.

I also still want to try and connect the lost moments, hopefully with someone who might know one of these lost faces. I’ve been in contact with the people who I am getting most of my photographs off, yet they all seem to have stumbled across them in the same way I have, only having a few rough guesses as to who the family where. One particular lot I am itching to get my hands on is a box of over 170 photographs, all from one family through from the 1900s. Amazing. Who is this family? How can they loose an entire life’s story? Was there noone to pass the photos on to or did they just not hold any sentimental value? The lady who has these images bought a chest at an auction and found a little tin hidden away at the bottom with the photographs in, so her guess is as good as mine as to who the family is.

One comment from Alex Wierzbicki was about stolen moments. I’ve been doing all this thinking about lost moments, but what if they were stolen? What if that one photograph that means so much to me, as I’m sure these did to someone at some point, was taken?

I know this post is a bit of a rambling, but I just want to get all these branches down so I can clear my head in order to focus on one at a time. Ria Joynes project was one of those to make you sit up and listen. A, ‘I wish I thought of that’ moment. She is tracking her name, and with the 1 in 6,000,000,000 Maria’s and Joynes’ in Britain, there is only one other Maria Joynes. So her journey is on to track down this woman and find out who she is. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

