Howard Schatz

One thing I love when doing research, is coming across a photographer you already know and love, and exploring further into their work that relates to a second project. Howard Schatz is a prime example. I looked at his work for the underwater project, and I am more than pleasantly surprised to find a series of studio portraits dedicated to exploring the human form. Looking through his website, I started thinking about what I would write about his work. But everything I thought to say, by time I got the the next set he had changed my mind.   It seems he has explored a lot of different ways to photograph the body. From the dark and highly contrasted to the colorful explorations of shape.

His work verges on mesmerizing. I can’t stop looking through his pages .

Leave a Reply

