Andreas Franke

This is an odd one. Andreas Franke, an Australian photographer and artist who has sunk his work to a depth of 93feet. Strange. I’ve read a bit about it, and I’ll tell you what I know. Franke is a keen diver, who on one trip discovered a sunken military ship. He, as always photographed the wrecked ship, capturing the sea life that was thriving aboard the sunken vessel.

“Even though there is so much life, marine life, all over and around it, the shipwreck itself, to me, is a dead thing,” Franke said. “But I thought that if I put people on it, then there would again be life on that ship.”

After photographing the ship, he took his mysterious shots and edited people into the sunken World. The result is an eerie and fascinating culture that seems to exist at the bottom of the ocean, like another civilization. The people added in remind me of something in a dream.

Andreas Franke

He had his work attached to the boat itself, in an underwater gallery that seems to be a kind of graveyard of the history the photos appear to contain.
The images will take you back to the posts in which I found them.

Leave a Reply

