Give it a Year.

You’ve given it a year. You’ve talked to everyone and tried everything, I hope. I hope that you’ve listened to every word and taken a million notes, and are still as easily excited over finding a new photographer as I am now. I hope you still make the most of everything you see, and have fallen in love with the darkroom all over again.

I know it’s always been a struggle to remember the name of that photographer you’re always searching for, but you can’t squeeze it all in. I need to stop expecting every little detail to fit, tell me you have? Tell me you write everything down; names, places, compositions, subjects, because you know as well as I do, maybe even better, that come tomorrow you won’t have a clue what it was and you’ll regret it. I carry post-its, always. Do you? Tell me you still do. One difference I hope is a big one: not to be disheartened when every single photograph doesn’t end up being worthy. Everyone has a rubbish pile. It just means you’ll appreciate the real deal when you see it. I’m still figuring that out. I hope it’s stuck!

The sad truth is I don’t even know where this will find you. Home? University? I hope I can say the latter, and that you’re still in love with photography. I hope you’ve given Coventry a chance, not given up. I hope you can tell me you don’t run home so often, and have packed in relying on mom and dad for everything. I hope you have found the heart to finally clean the bathroom. Of all the things I would love to ask you, most of all I want to know you’re happy. Wherever you are and whatever you’re doing. Just tell me you stayed happy?

I imagine this year has flown by, so there’s no need to finish this off by telling you to make the most of the little time you have left. Just keep your chin up, and keep snapping.

Leave a Reply

